You must have noticed a message saying “This person is unavailable on Messenger” might be perplexing for users of Messenger. Messenger is a chat app owned by Facebook. If you are also confused about the error message, you have come to the right place.
Message applications like Messenger let you know whether or not you’re allowed to communicate with a certain user. You’ll get a notice that states the person you’re chatting with isn’t on Messenger, but that doesn’t imply the message itself.
After you’ve sent a message to the receiver, an error notice shows, making you question whether the recipient has quit Messenger. Or, have you been blocked? Or, Is your Account Suspended? There are numerous doubts which will be answered in this article.
In this article, we’ll explain the error message saying “This Person is Unavailable on Messenger”.
This error message indicates that you can’t communicate with the other person at this moment. This notification looks to suggest that the individual is no longer using Messenger, however, this is not always the case.
When someone deletes their Messenger or Facebook account, you’ll see a “This person is unavailable on Messenger” notice appear. When the receiver decides to use Messenger again, this message will be removed. If that’s the case, you won’t be able to chat with them until they get back to using messenger again.
However, there are some other scenarios as well. Some of them are listed below.
1. The Person Has Blocked You
The first and foremost reason is that the other person has blocked you. It’s up to the individual who blocked you to explain why.
When any user chooses to block someone on Messenger, it simply means that they don’t want to get any message from you and the reason can be anything. It may be best to just let that person go and remove the communication from Messenger.
If you really want to get in touch with them, send an email to them and make your request there. There are other methods to reach out to them other than email. There’s no particular list on Facebook which can tell the people who have blocked you. However, there are some signs and signals which can indicate that the user has blocked you. Here’s how you can find out.
- You are unable to contact or invite them to join a group with you.
- Their profile photo is not shown.
- You are not able to see their posts.
- You can no longer find them in your list of friends.
- Whenever you search for their profile, you are not able to find them.
2. You Mistakenly Blocked Them
To be precise, it is rare but possible. You may have mistakenly or unknowingly blocked the other person. This can be done from the official Facebook app as well as the Messenger App. But, you can unblock them anytime and don’t worry about the previous chats. They won’t get deleted when you block and unblock any person. Here’s how you can find out.
- The hamburger menu is located at the top-right of the screen. Tap on it.
- Now, go to Settings and Privacy and then tap on “Settings” in your Facebook App.
- Under the option “Audience and Visibility,” you’ll find an option called “Block List”. Tapping on it will get you to the list of users that you have blocked.
- If you find the particular user on the list, you have mistakenly blocked that person.
- Unblock the person whom you have mistakenly or unknowingly blocked.
3. The User Has Deleted His Account
This is the most probable reason why you are getting this error message. The other user may have deleted or temporarily removed his account for various reasons. There are two scenarios in this case.
Firstly, the user has removed his account. Secondly, Facebook has removed or deleted the account due to security issues. In the former case, you’ll be able to message the other person as soon as he joins the social media. In the latter case, its next to impossible to message the other person. You may have to wait for even weeks.
When any of the above-mentioned reasons occurs, the “This person is unavailable on Messenger” error message will appear. If you wish to communicate with that person, you’ll either have to persuade them to unblock you or create a new Messenger account.
There’s also a chance of a technical glitch which is very rare. In that case, try logging out and logging in again to see if the problem still persists. If even that doesn’t work out, uninstall and reinstall the app. This may help you to get rid of the problem. Other than that, there’s not much that can be done about this issue.
This is all you need to know about the error message “This Person is Unavailable on Messenger”. There’s nothing you can do to message them on messenger if they don’t want you to. The best way is to ignore it and move on with your life. I hope this article helped you, in case of any doubt, do let us know in the comment section below.